ALA's Board of Directors

ALA's Board of Directors is comprised of individuals who are experienced in public education and operating charter schools. Three board members were significant to the development of Voyager Academy, a reputable charter school in Durham, NC.  

ALA's Board of Directors meets every 4th Wednesday at 6:30 pm.  Check the website for the meeting location. Below are the brief biographies of ALA's Board of Directors.

Next ALA Board Meeting:

Wednesday, June 24th, 2020 @ 6:30pm

Location:  Virtual Meeting

Interim Chair
Dr. Laurell Malone


Coordinator of Faculty Professional Development at NCCU

Former Chair of the Department of Educational Leadership at NCCU

Former Teacher and Principal

Steven Gatlin


Project-Based Leadership Specialist

Social Studies teacher at Voyager Academy and Northern Durham High

2014 Candidate for seat on Durham Public Schools Board of Education

Ebony Arrington

Cell Bank Lead, Production Operations, Pfizer, Inc., Sanford, NC

Community Organizer, Zeta Phi Beta Inc.

Board Member
Anna Fonke


Anna, a Bladen County native, received her degree in Communications from Campbell University and eventually decided to make Lee County home almost 20 years ago. She worked in Human Resources before deciding to stay at home with her two young children and start her own photography business - Anna Fonke Photography. Her oldest child now attends Ascend soon to be followed by the youngest in a year. 

Board Member
Tina Fox
Graphic Designer/Web Designer 
Marketing-Account Representative and Social Media/Webmaster, Signarama

© 2018 Ascend Leadership Academy

283 Harvey Faulk Road, Sanford, NC 27332

Phone: (919) 842-5411

Fax:  (919) 842-3545

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon